About the Youth Council

Who are we?

Southend Youth Council is open to any young person aged between 11-18 who goes to school, or lives, in the Southend borough.

What do we do?

Our main aim is to provide a platform for young people in the borough to have a say over how their borough is run. We meet to discuss the issues that affect us in Southend. Meetings follow a formalised agenda, which could include items such as a debate on current affairs and updates on our campaigns

When and where do we meet?

We meet on the first Wednesday of every month from 5pm to 7pm, at the Civic Centre in Southend. Civic Centre address:

Southend Borough Council,
Civic Centre,
Victoria Avenue,

How can you join?

New members are always welcome. Just come along to a meeting and an application form can be filled out on the night.

Who is in charge?

The Youth Council is chaired by Youth Mayor Marco Mann and Deputy Youth Mayor Amy Burdett and supported by the Member of UK Youth Parliament for Southend, Alex Small.

If you would like to attend please come along to the next meeting; if you're coming by yourself we'll arrange for one of our experienced Youth Councillors to show you around, introduce you to the Youth Council and answer any questions.

If you want to stay up to date with the Southend Youth Council or talk to us about something that interests or concerns you in Southend then please email YouthMayor@Southend.gov.uk.

Youth Mayor
Youth Mayor - Marco Mann

Deputy Youth Mayor
Deputy Youth Mayor - Amy Burdett

Member of Youth Parliament
Member of Youth Parliament - Alex Small
My name is Alex Small and I am currently your Member of the UK Youth Parliament for Southend. I am 17 years old and taking Politics, History, Biology and German at A-Level at Westcliff High School for Boys. I joined the Southend Youth Council in October 2017 and this is my first major role in Youth Politics. I am hoping to run many successful local campaigns to better the lives of young people in Southend especially in the areas of religious tolerance, transport and young carers but also represent Southend in events at national level and in the House of Commons once a year. I am open to any idea/concerns you may have so don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Other officers
Minute taker Amy Burdett
Press Charlotte Fasey
Speaker Nadia Ahmed and James
School Rep. Coordinator Marco Mann
3rd Sector Jessica Chapman
Chancellor Zia Mitha
LGBT+ Officer Saffron Reinecke
Website Manager Jasmine Thompson

Aspirations Banner Advert